Posted in Personal Blogging

Hello

So, I’ve been trying to write this for a while.

I promise.

I’ve written some drafts and then scrapped the whole thing because I couldn’t make it sound the way I wanted to.

When I started this blog, I made the implicit promise that I’d try to keep a certain tone while writing. Not when I was sharing things that were meant to be sad, but when I talked to you about other things.

I wanted to sound cheery and happy and all that jazz…. but I couldn’t. Not right now.

I’m sorry I’ve been so absent lately.

I’m sorry I didn’t post the promised updates. Everything going on in the world and particularly in the US has been making me feel… honestly like shit. So I can’t pretend.

I won’t promise to come back next week in a better mood because I honestly don’t know if that’ll happen.

I kind of promise to keep you posted. That I’ll keep wiring small posts to let you know how I’m feeling.

Maybe no one’s reading this right now, and I don’t mind. I just want to leave this message here for a moment in which I look back and see this… gap where posts should be. I want to remember what happened and how I was.

I care and I worry about all of you out there, receiving and maybe even spreading hate.

I’m from Chile, so why do I care? I care because I have this thing called “empathy” and I really, really care about everything going on in there. I care because I have friends in the US. I care because I know this election has validated a lot of hateful thoughts and actions. I care because I don’t want to see people who’ve been through hell and back being forced to relive all that.

I’m sorry I can’t be bubbly today.

I’ll try again later.

When I’m done writing and re-writing the update posts, I’ll let you know.

For now, there’s just this.

-L.

Author:

23-year-old writer from Chile. Currently reading, writing, and trying not to lose my mind.

Leave a Reply

