Posted in On the Table

Today’s Special is: Alice Isn’t Dead

Hello, random people from the internet who sometimes read what happens here.

(oh, if you’re reading this: Hello, Tamara)

So, today I wanted to try my hand at something new. When I first started the blog I had a few sections planned that I definitely wanted to work on in the future. As a result, this particular post has been sitting in my drafts for a while now.

On the Table is a section where I try to convince you to like something that I am completely in love with. These won’t be fully fledged reviews though, so I will only post vital information and things that I liked in general. If you, at some point what to read a full review with quotes, notes and me crying all over the place, please let me know.

Okay, now that that’s out of the way, let’s get to the point of this.

On the Table today we have:

Alice Isn’t Dead.

What is Alice Isn’t Dead?

 First of all, it’s a podcast written by Joseph Fink (One of the creators of Welcome to Night Vale), performed by Jasika Nicole and produced by Disparition (also in charge of the beautiful soundtrack) and is one of the four projects that Night Vale presents has available for you to listen.

The story is told from the perspective of a truck driver travelling through the US moving cargo and searching for her missing wife, who she once thought to be dead.

Why is this podcast so amazing that it stole my heart?

Well, that’s an excellent question!

I will have you know that Alice Isn’t Dead not only has a beautifully written narrative, with long descriptions of vast and often desolate landscapes as well as some interesting monologues and reflections. This show also has incredibly complex characters that never feel incidental to the narration.

If you know about Welcome to Night Vale then you can at least imagine a little bit some of the gory or horrifying parts the show has.

Jasika Nicole does a wonderful job building up the suspense with her voice and making you care about her. Oh, boy how you will care about her.

She shares little facts about herself and the quiet life she thought she led with her wife Alice until the day she went missing. She will guide you through piecing everything together and you will want to hold her hand at some points when things begin to make some sense.

The show has some amazing quotes that I will not share here because I don’t want to spoil anything for you (any major details about plot and characters will not be shared here), and can be very soothing. Just don’t listen to it at night. While driving. That might be a bad idea.

Disparition made wonderful music for the show that helps you get into it a lot. At the end of each episode there is a joke that may or may not be hinting at things in the podcast.

I say may or may not because I’m not certain and maybe it’s just us reading too much into it. Anyway, it’s fun to try and connect everything.

If you’re a fan of horror and thrillers and women loving women who don’t die at some point on the show then this is for you. The main characters/narrator is so strong and so human in a refreshing way. She is not less or more because of her humanity, she is just human, and she feels so strongly.

I invite you to listen to the podcast because I swear you will love it.

Also, look at that cool cover art. I mean, really.

-L.

*If you want a full review of Alice Isn’t Dead filled with flailing and senseless crying, do let me know.

 

Author:

23-year-old writer from Chile. Currently reading, writing, and trying not to lose my mind.

Leave a Reply

